Death Cab for Cutie: Kintsugi

I happen to be quite a big fan of Death Cab for Cutie; their music was the soundtrack to my lonely teen years and will always hold a special place in my life. I love all of their albums, some people like to claim that the earlier ones are ‘the best’ and can’t be touched, but I think each one has its own unique flavour and suits a different mood.

I was really, really excited when I first heard that they were coming out with a new album, I was interested to hear what kind of sound this album would have, especially after ‘Codes and Keys’ which many people regard as a departure from their usual style.

I have to say that I think the songs on ‘Kintsugi’ are really reminiscent of their earlier work, listening to them feels a lot like being sixteen and listening to ‘Plans’ on repeat in my bedroom.

Incase you missed it, here are the four new singles that have been released:

I’m so happy to have some new music to get excited about! It feels like it’s been so long since anyone I love came out with a new album.

Whilst I’m here I thought I’d also add some of my favourite songs from their previous work, these change depending on my mood, but if you’re new to DCFC it might give you an idea of their sound:

’til next time,

Wren x

Leave a Reply

