What’s the Point of Facebook?

A friend of mine recently deleted and then re-created his Facebook profile. It got me thinking about a lot of things; mainly social media and identity.

I don’t really use Facebook. I have it, I have about two hundred ‘friends’ on it. Most of them are people who I went to school with and probably didn’t talk to. The only reason I don’t get rid of it are A) I use it to talk to R and share things with him when we’re apart and B) I use it to keep track of events and arrange them.

That’s about it… I don’t think Facebook is an accurate representation of me, or of anyone else.

We can almost totally control what we put on social media. We can all easily create a false sense of our own lives; which to me feels kind of strange. I don’t actually know a lot of my friends, the lives that they lead online are totally different to the reality.

I put more effort and time into this blog than I do my Facebook page. Obviously, Facebook isn’t really something that you put effort into… but you get what I’m trying to say.

I’m more honest using a name that isn’t my own, than I am in my own skin.

Actually, maybe that’s not fair; most of the people I have on my Facebook I’m not close to at all, it’s just a tool to snoop on other people and compare lives. That’s probably not popular, but I don’t think I’m alone in thinking that.

I spend more time here because I feel more like myself here, I’m proud of what I’ve built up and the effort I’ve put into this blog. I don’t post on Facebook, I just don’t feel the need to share my thoughts or experiences with people that I don’t care about and that don’t care about me.

Thankfully, I’m getting to an age where I care very little about hiding my ‘real’ identity on this blog. Mainly because I’m proud of what I post here, I think it’s generally well thought through and (fairly!) intelligent. All that’s on my Facebook are pictures of me and R or old shows that I was in. Both of which are lovely, but don’t give you an insight into the kind of person that I am.

I would say that my Facebook identity represents about 20% of me, ‘Wren’ represents 95% of me. So I feel happier hanging out in the blog-world than I do in the social media sphere.

Of course, there are things that I hold back on when I write here.

I don’t write too much about my personal life, what I do from day-to-day, information about me and R. In fact, I realised recently that you guys pretty much know nothing about the practical side of me. You have a VERY good insight into my thoughts and opinions, but not much of me as a person.

I think I’ve shied away from that as I feel it’s ‘too personal’ but this is a person blog… so really that line shouldn’t exist. I want to inject a bit more of ‘me’ into things, this isn’t ‘The Economist’, it’s not an academic exercise but me, Wren, writing about my life and thoughts.

’til next time,

Wren x

Leave a Reply

