Why Do I Still Blog? Updates on The Future…

I write a blog about mental health.

I mean, it’s about a lot of other things as well- mostly it’s just me complaining a lot. However, the original idea for this blog was a chronicle of my mental health problems and how I was coping with them.

In the last three and a half years my life and my health have changed dramatically. I’ve almost gone a year without self harming or therapy. That’s a long time for someone who used to have to cut every day and struggled to live between counselling appointments.

The really weird thing that I think needs to be acknowledged in this blog is blogging, mental health and recovery. This blog was about my mental health problems. If I don’t have mental health problems then what do I blog about?

I follow a few blogs about mental health and over the years I’ve noticed that a lot of people slowly tail off as they start to recover. This makes a lot of sense, as horrible as it is, if you’re having mental health problems and appointments and counselling then you have a lot of material to write about. If you’re happy and healthy then you don’t really have anything ground-breaking to say.

As well as this I think a lot of people want to break with the past and move on from their illness and maintaining a blog about it just feels a bit like flogging a dead horse.

Of course, this isn’t something that I’ve chosen to do- so I really can’t talk about that. What I’ve written above is pure speculation and please feel free to offer your thoughts in the comments if you’ve been in this situation.

Why am I still blogging?

The answer is that I don’t know! I came back to blogging on a regular schedule in October of last year and I’ve been pretty good at sticking to that schedule. I needed my blog last year, it gave me something to focus on whilst I was going through the hell that was stage-school.

Right now I just keep blogging because I love it, because this place gives me somewhere to express my thoughts and feelings. I’m struggling with a few things, one is that I want to rejig the subjects that I talk about. There may be less Paganism and more Feminism… is that okay with everyone? There also may be more about history and writing. The quota of mentalism will stay the same, it’ll always be the main focus of this blog. I also want to change the design and write more about my personal life. The latter is the thing that I’m worrying about the most, I don’t want this to become mushy and full of TMI, but in the next few years my life will be changing, potentially radically, and it would be weird if I just didn’t talk about it.

And don’t worry, I’m going to complain just as much as I did before.

Thank you for reading and feel free to share your thoughts below!

’til next time,

Wren x

4 thoughts on “Why Do I Still Blog? Updates on The Future…

  1. First and foremost, congratulations on your recovery milestone: I hope your recovery will continue, and that you will come more and more to enjoy the fruits of improving health!

    I think most bloggers are at their best when they are blogging about something they are passionate about; or something that impacts their world greatly. If a blogger sticks to a theme despite not really being passionate about it, the writing process becomes a drudgery and the drudgery carries over to the reading process, as well. The important thing is, don’t limit yourself. Even if, like I do with my blog, you want to use only a single category or tag for your posts, don’t limit yourself within that topic: push it to its limits! I’ve read blogs where the authors have backed themselves into corners by committing themselves to such a narrow scope of topics, or to such a rigid posting schedule, that their writing and creativity visually suffer under the stress. It would be like Renoir having decided to paint flowering meadow scenes with only one color, one brush, and on a two-works-per-week sort of schedule.

    • Thank you very much! It’s been a long road but it’s incredible to feel real improvement.
      That’s very interesting, it’s great to hear from another perspective- I’ve been struggling a lot internally about this situation for a while now. Haha, that’s a great analogy! I think I’m so used to the ‘Monday: mental health, Wednesday: anything, Friday: Paganism’ schedule that I’ve been following for the last year that it’s a bit daunting to try and switch it up, I will try though as I can feel my content getting a little stale. Maybe it’s just me feeling that way but it’s been bothering me for a while now.
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

      • I think it’s a habit our culture has fallen into, scheduling inspiration. While I can understand why it’s this way, my heart still goes out to people who have to stress with scheduling their inspiration and creativity, as time then becomes one of the first boundaries for something that should – in my opinion – remain boundless.

        I like what I’ve read from you so far, and look forward to reading more from you 🙂

      • I’ve spent most of my life writing fiction, but I could never do it in a professional capacity. I find actually writing on schedule to be easy, but letting the ideas and stories form is something that I never give myself a deadline for. For me, it tends to make the story feel stale and unnatural if I force it.
        Thank you so much, that’s so kind of you!

Leave a Reply

