Another Suicide

A thirteen/fourteen year old girl who went to my old school has committed suicide.

I don’t know her identity yet, it’ll probably be revealed later on. She had a little brother. She was the same age as the kids I used to teach drama to. As I don’t know her name yet it’s still possible that she could be one of the kids I used to teach drama to.

That makes two deaths from suicide in two years at my old school. Am I the only one who thinks this is shocking and appalling? Am I the only one who is angry and frustrated and almost in tears right now? Am I the only one with the guts to stand up and say something?

Suicide is terrifying. It’s bloody, fucking scary. We don’t want to talk about it, we don’t want to think about it. I know my head teacher, he is a spineless and cowardly man. He came up to me at my friend’s graveside when I was in pieces and told me sternly that he expected my grades to be maintained. I think this is sickening behaviour.

WHY IS IT SO HARD FOR US TALK ABOUT SUICIDE?

How many more of his students need to die needlessly before he works out that ignoring this isn’t going to make it go away. I’m so lucky that I managed to get through those years. I’m so, so bloody lucky that I somehow managed to scrape through with my life.

I was offered no help, I had nowhere to go… I didn’t even know what was happening to me. The girl who died is the same age as I was when I made my first suicide attempt.

I feel so angry right now, I feel so frustrated and so overwhelmed with emotion.

I want to do something. I can’t sit by and let this fear overwhelm me and everyone else any longer. I said after B died that it was only a matter of time before it happened again.

This school offers no education about mental health (I doubt it’s the only one) it ignores mental health problems, staff are incapable of recognising when a student is in distress- even when it’s right under their noses. They have laughable pastoral support and are led by a man who is obsessed with image and the easy way out. He drags them forward whilst neglecting the basics.

Mental health should be so easy to treat, so easy to spot… it should be so easy to avoid disaster. This isn’t cancer, this isn’t epilepsy, this is psychology. Mental health problems are always treatable. All we need to do is provide education and promote knowledge and openness. How hard is that?

Mental health is something we need to be proactive about, mopping up the aftermath just isn’t working any more. It’s a sick joke and I am beyond angry. No lessons have been learnt from B’s death.

At the end of the day, a child is dead. A young girl is dead. I don’t know the details. I don’t know if anything could have made a difference… the really sad thing is that she was never given the chance to see if it would have.

Well done to my pathetic old school.

’til next time,

Wren x

One thought on “Another Suicide

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about this second suicide. You are so right, mental health training has to happen. At my uni now, we’re actually getting ‘mental health first aid’ training rolled out so that people in authority know how to spot and help with mental health problems. 1 in 4 people will experience mental health problems in a lifetime, something needs to be done.

Leave a Reply

