Wandering

I love to travel. I especially love to walk.

I think that travel and exploration help to strengthen my faith and expand my mind. When I was younger I was a home bird, I didn’t want to go anywhere. I was content to stay at home, huddled up in my room.

Don’t get me wrong, I love being at home. I love lounging around in my domain with my things and my creature comforts. However, I love being at home even more when I’ve recently been away.

I’m very lucky to live in a beautiful place in an old country. There’s history everywhere around here, and I love to explore it.

I think that wandering strengthens my faith. It allows me to see and appreciate the past and the present. I can get up close and personal with nature, something that is getting increasingly harder to do in this modern world. This makes me feel wonderfully calm and peaceful. Seeing the wilderness of the moors or the raw power of the sea connects me instantly to the Gods.

Recently I’ve managed to start doing rituals again. This is something that I’ve been struggling with for a year or so now. I just seemed to stray from my faith, not in my beliefs, but in taking time to observe them. After getting back into the swing of things I feel ten times better. I feel relaxed, at peace and with a confidence about my future and the world around me.

I’ve also been making time to have little breaks and spend time away from home. I’m so glad for every weekend away that I have. Exploring and travelling- even when I’m not that far away from home- gives me a perspective and a curiosity that helps me to enjoy and appreciate both my faith and my life.

Travel can widen our horizons, I think that we all need experiences of losing ourselves somewhere new, exploring and finding our place in the world. For me, travel feels like a gift from the Gods, it allows me to see the world that they have helped up create.

Blessings,

Wren x

Leave a Reply

