PostSecret

PostSecret is a community art project started in 2005 by Frank Warren. People are encouraged to create their own postcard containing a secret that they have never shared before and then send it in. The secrets are displayed on the PostSecret blog every Sunday.

I first came across PostSecret a few years ago when watching the film ‘In Search of a Midnight Kiss’¬† (which is amazing and you should definitely go and watch if you haven’t already.) I was absolutely¬†mesmerised by it, the idea of sharing something that you can’t say and being totally anonymous is incredible.

When I first heard of PostSecret I was at a time in my life where I felt like I was going to explode from all of the things that I was holding inside. I spent a lot of time watching videos, reading past secrets and immersing myself in the feeling of freedom that this created. It made me realise how many people were in my position, and stopped me from feeling as isolated.

Secrets range from humorous to serious, they come in all shapes and sizes. Everyone has secrets, things that weight down on them and affect what they do. I think that PostSecret is brilliant, it lets people get things off their chests and shows everyone else that they are normal. It shows us all that we’re human, we’re flawed, and we have nothing to be ashamed of.

’til next time,

Wren x

One thought on “PostSecret

  1. How very interesting! I saw a television show once where I girl started such a thing. I never knew it really existed. I have to go check it out. I understand how this could be very therapeutic. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

