I Think I’m Starting a Theatre Company…

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a post about how I didn’t want to be an actress; so I thought I’d write another one about exactly what I DO want to do with my life!

It’s not really much of a puzzle, I’ve just only thought about it recently. A while ago I was talking to a woman who, on paper, had exactly the career that I wanted. She’d trained as a classical actress at a prestigious drama school, joined the RSC and been a great Shakespearean actress. It was as I was talking to her that I realised that I didn’t actually want that.

It was a strange revelation, and a moment that I’ll probably remember for a long time. It was the start of a series of turning points for me.

A little while after that I did my street performance; ‘Labels’ that some of you kindly helped me get ideas for. It was after this that I came to a realisation… THAT was what I wanted to do with my life! I’m starting to think about putting together a theatre company, based in the North of England creating pop-up, issue based theatre. I want to do my performances on street corners and market places- in shopping centres and bus stations. In short, I want to bring theatre with a strong message to the people.

Obviously this isn’t an easy career, but it’s something that I’m totally passionate about. The response that I got from the trial run of ‘Labels’ was overwhelming, it absolutely knocked me sideways. I’ve recently got permission to take ‘Labels’ to the Edinburgh Fringe festival… that’s right, I’ll be taking my clothes off in the name of raising awareness of mental health between the 10th and 17th August around Edinburgh.

At the moment I’m still searching for a name, I’ve had a few ideas but I’ve yet to try them out. I want to merge my love of creating with my love of performance and my passion for issues such as mental health. The beauty of what I do is that it has very little cost and it forces people to listen.

If I was doing this sort of thing in a theatre then I would only get an audience of people who cared about mental health issues; those people- whilst being amazing and wonderful- are not the thing that I’m trying to tackle. The issue is people who don’t care, who want it shoved under the carpet. When I’m stood a few metres in front of them it forces them to think about it.

So there we have it… it’s in writing, I can’t take it back now… Wren is making theatre for northerners!

’til next time,

Wren x

 

3 thoughts on “I Think I’m Starting a Theatre Company…

Leave a Reply

