We’re All Crazy Here

There’s a magical, elusive thing that I need to learn about; it’s called ‘organisation.’ I always seem to forget that I have n0 time on a Monday evening to write blog posts…

Mental illness is becoming more and more common; I don’t think that more people are becoming mentally ill, I think that more people with mental health problems are coming forward and talking about them. This is definitely a step in the right direction.

However I do think that there are limits; there’s a line between what is a mental heath problem and what’s just you and your behaviour. Of course we all have behaviours that are limiting- this was something that I discussed in last week’s post- but we also have behaviours that are not really limiting, but that we view as ‘odd’.

A little while ago I thought there was something seriously wrong with me; I would become so anxious in relationships, even just friendships, that I would end up sabotaging them. I just couldn’t deal with anything, I couldn’t trust anyone and would become incredibly anxious at tiny things. I thought that there was something really wrong with me and that I would never be able to find another human being who didn’t think that I was a freak.

It was only after I met my partner that I started to feel normal; I know I’m not like everyone else, but that doesn’t matter to me- I’m not weird, there are other human beings who think the same as I do.

I think what I’m trying to get at here is that when we experience mental illness society teaches that we’re alone, that we’re odd and different; but we’re really not. At least one in four people will experience mental health problems; yes, there is stigma, there is discrimination, but there are also a hell of a lot of people suffering in silence.

More people than you would think have been through horrible things, more people than you would think have undergone some form of therapy, more people than you think have had mental health problems.

Feeling like an outsider, a freak, can be so incredibly damaging. There is no easy way to start a conversation, but nothing will be gained from lying and hiding away. The more we start being honest and admitting things, the more others around us will feel able to open up about their problems. Sadly, it does need one person to be brave; so why don’t you try and be that person?

’til next time,

Wren x

Leave a Reply

