Images of a Goddess

I thought it would be interesting to look at some pictures today- at least more interesting than my usual ramblings- I want to explore how the Goddess (or Goddesses in general) are presented in images.

This is what happens when you put the word ‘Goddess’ into Google images:

goddessesSo what do we see? Well they’re all images of young women- attractive, sexually provocative young women… I’m not sure that I agree with this representation. One of the things that I like about Paganism is the concept of ‘Maiden, Mother, Crone’ showing that all aspects and ages of a woman are important. These images seem to follow the popular concept that only young women are valuable.

There’s a lot of nature in these pictures- highlighting the Pagan aspects, though the main colour is blue, which confuses me slightly as I would have thought it should have been green, though the presence of moons is comforting.

Is this what you think of when you hear the word ‘Goddess’? I’m not saying that these images are right or wrong- I don’t think anyone can pass judgement on that- but they’re very interesting. I can say right away that none of them match my mental image of what a Goddess looks like, what about you? And where do you think these images come from?

I know, I’ve made you think rather than actually answering any questions… but I’m in that sort of mood.

Have a great weekend,

Blessings,

Wren x

One thought on “Images of a Goddess

  1. I caught myself doing something similar years ago. I’m a wire wrapper and I was making these little goddesses, looking for a stone to make a new one and saw a round plain little stone and immediately told my friend “Wow, this little short thing would not make a very good goddess. She would be short and dumpy”. As soon as I said it, I wanted to bite my tongue. My friend who is a wonderful lady and embodies some wonderful goddess aspects, is short and looks like a little rock gnome. I began to think about all the romantic goddess pictures we see Her illustrated. I started looking for different types of stones and when I wrote the story of my little “ladies”, I put photos to illustrate my idea of her. They were everyday people. My Mother of Sighs was a careworn lady who lived down the street. I see your point and appreciate this post.

Leave a Reply

