Labels: A Street Performance to Fight Stigma

I wrote a post a little while ago asking for your help, I was working on an idea for a performance that would challenge the stigma and misconceptions surrounding mental illness.

First of all, a huge, huge thank you to all of you who responded! It was much appreciated and made me think a lot, I honestly can’t thank you enough for sharing your time and thoughts with me.

Secondly, here’s what I’ve decided to do:

This Friday afternoon I will be walking around my local town centre wearing a coat and carrying a suitcase, I’ll then stop in the middle of the crowds, put down and open my suitcase which will contain flyers about my performance as well as flyers for various mental health charities. After doing this I’ll take my coat of to reveal that I’m wearing clothes with ‘mentally ill’, ‘depressed’, ‘psychotic’ written all over them. Gradually I’ll start taking my clothes off to reveal words like ‘friendly’, ‘committed’ and ‘loving’ written all across my skin.

DSCN0385

Once I’ve done this I’m going to stand around reading ‘Glamour’ magazine and perhaps handing out a few of the flyers in my suitcase. I haven’t decided yet how much eye contact I’m going to make with the members of the public, I’m leaving this down to how I feel on the day.

DSCN0383

This was a difficult performance to come up with for me, I’ve tried really hard to strike a balance between making a statement and tying not to be self indulgent- I wanted to do it wearing a mask so that I could remain anonymous, but we agreed that this would add a sinister dimension to the performance that I didn’t want… so me it is…

’til next time,

Wren x

2 thoughts on “Labels: A Street Performance to Fight Stigma

  1. Pingback: The Reaction To ‘A Street Performance To Fight Stigma’ | The Druid Bird

Leave a Reply

