Grey

Children are brought up to see the world in black and white. I think it’s probably because it’s easier that way, but I know that as I got older and older I started to struggle with the way that I was seeing the world. More and more situations were being presented to me that I didn’t understand, or that I didn’t have the moral knowledge to deal with.

It was then that I started to realise that the world couldn’t be as simple as people had first explained it to me.

My primary school wasn’t officially ‘Christian’ but it still taught that God made the world in seven days and we sang hymns in assembly. I was brought up with the Bible and ‘Christian values’ and I never really questioned it.

I was lucky enough to find Paganism when I was about eleven and immediately agreed with its ‘grey’ morality. I’ve always had a strong sense that things in life aren’t clear-cut, they’re complex and difficult and to try and live by black and white values will only cause you pain and frustration.

I’ve recently been watching a programme that has brought my ideas of morality to the forefront of my mind, it’s called ‘Life and Death Row’ and has been shown on BBC3 here in the UK. If you’re able to then I would highly suggest watching that- actually, no, stop reading this right now and go and watch it. It’s probably one of the most unsettling and thought provoking things that I have ever seen and that I think I will ever see.

As humans we seem to create a morality that tells us that we shouldn’t feel the things that we feel- the Bible makes it clear that we shouldn’t be lustful or envious or greedy, this means that when we do feel these emotions we also feel guilt.

I don’t know about you but I don’t think this is right- I love Paganism because it accepts that humans do feel these things, that we do commit terrible acts and ‘sinful’ things. It accepts that sometimes we want things that we shouldn’t- and it says that that’s okay.

I’ve never personally liked the idea of ‘white magick’ I don’t think there’s such a thing. The universe needs a balance of bad and good in order to function. If you don’t have one then how can you ever hope to recognise the other? It’s wishful thinking to pretend that something can be wholly good or wholly bad, we wouldn’t live in the society that we do if that were the case.

Don’t be afraid of the dark, it has its place in our world as much as the light does. Don’t allow it to dominate your thoughts or worries- it’s no more powerful that the light, it’s just necessary. Embrace what you fear, embrace what you love; we live in a world of grey- and the more you think about it the more you realise how amazing it is.

Blessings,

Wren x

2 thoughts on “Grey

  1. I found this post through the PBP, going back through and catching up on posts from earlier this year.

    My daughter is 6 years old, and her best friend is a black kid down the street who’s lifestyle is wholly different from ours (he comes knocking on our door a half an hour before her bedtime, if that says anything). I don’t have a problem, she doesn’t have a problem, my husband doesn’t have a problem… and yet, some in the neighborhood have a problem.

    I don’t want her growing up seeing the world as black and white. Even if she doesn’t choose my path as her path, that’s not a healthy way to look at things. If she wants to believe in the Christian God, I say go for it – but I will do my damndest to make sure that she maintains the respect and understanding of other beliefs and theologies.

    If there’s one thing I hope that “Frozen” can teach the younger generation, is that trying to suppress what you feel is a very, VERY bad idea – and once you set yourself free and allow yourself to be truly expressed, there’s a wealth of beauty and strength that can come from it.

    (Leave it to me to look at a Disney movie from a moral/philosophical perspective…)

    • I absolutely agree; when I have children I want to bring them up with the same idea of a grey world that I have. Differences should be understood and respected, at the end of the day we can’t judge what someone else feels if we’ve never truly walked in their shoes and seen the world from their point of view.
      Haha, that reminds me strongly of my old Philosophy teacher who strongly believed that all films had a deeper, philosophical meaning- I agree though, it’s good that popular media is starting to reflect these values and lessons.

Leave a Reply

