Why I Have to Stay (Semi) Anonymous

Nothing is private; reputation is everything

If you haven’t been paying attention you may not know that I’m an Actress.

So, erm… I’m an Actress. There. Now we can move on…

I’ve been having a lot of thoughts lately about losing my anonymity on this blog, I tell you a lot about myself- my age, where I live, what I do for a living (though I’m not disclosing exactly which supermarket I work for) and I also let you see enough snippets of my face that you could probably make some sort of strange, horror film-esque collage of it.

Recently I went though and made a few posts private, I basically either took down or password protected anything that I wouldn’t want my friends or people who knew me in person to read. I should also probably mention how impressed I was with what a coherent and level headed teenage mentalist I used to be… my old posts seem pretty mature

And no, that’s not an invitation for you to go and check up on that claim- just trust me.

This all lead to me thinking about how easy it would be for me to slowly stop being anonymous… which was ‘very’. I mean, if I think about it I’d have to say that I would be pretty proud to put my real name and face to this blog.

However, there’s one big problem.

The acting.

The quote at the start of this post comes from one of my tutors, it’s something she said to us during a lesson about acting and social media. I’m going to have to have a separate facebook account for my ‘career’ self and change my name on my normal account so that prospective employers can’t find it… not that there’s anything interesting on there at all.

I want to stop being anonymous, I want to make video posts (I should have said ‘vlog’, now I sound like I’m eighty or something) for you guys, I want to be able to talk about my love for vintage clothes and hair and make-up… I want to be open and honest with you but my career is quite firmly getting in the way of all that.

You know from previous posts that I’ve struggled with this before, and I still haven’t come to an honest conclusion about it- maybe in another three years I’ll be in a place to drop the (semi) anonymity, but for now some semblance of it has to stay.

Any thoughts?

’til next time,

Wren x

4 thoughts on “Why I Have to Stay (Semi) Anonymous

  1. It is a hard choice to make, I know that I will have to create a new FB when I graduate from uni, so it’s separate from my social life, as well as get other things (linkedin, etc) in order to be taken seriously with a job. It’s your choice at the end of the day about whether you reveal yourself completely or not, don’t let the internet force that choice for you as it’s your choice alone about what you wanna do 🙂

    • Same here with the new facebook profile, linkedin, etc- it seems ridiculous sometimes, I mean, I barely even use my personal facebook! I think I probably will one day, it’s definitely creeping closer and closer but I haven’t quite reached it yet 🙂

  2. It’s funny, just five minutes ago I was wondering whether I could just put my name to my blog already or whether it really would make me unemployable. I’m still not sure. What you said about reputation is something I shuld probably think on some more.

    • It’s definitely hard- to be honest if I wasn’t an actress then I wouldn’t be anonymous on here, it’s just because of the stupidity of the industry that I’m in that I feel it might be better to remain anonymous. I don’t feel like it would impact negatively on my career but I can’t take that risk- also, 90% of my friends don’t know that I have mental health problems, and I would hate for them to find out by reading this blog…. but at the end of the day it’s a very personal choice.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      Wren x

Leave a Reply

