Why I Observe the Solstice

I stay awake through both the longest and shortest nights of the year. I light a candle when the sun goes down and blow it out when it rises again. When every other ritual is tossed by the wayside, when I stop meditating and lose track of Druidcast it’s this simple observation that never fades.

For this winter solstice I won’t be having a proper ritual like usual, it’s my closing night (the final performance of the current run of my most recent show…. for those who don’t know, I’m an actress) and so we’re obviously doing that and then getting pissed afterwards… but that doesn’t mean that I’m going to go to sleep. I’m going to stay awake through the longest night of the year because that’s how I make sure the Gods know that at the end of the day, they’re the ones in my heart.

The reason why I keep this observance (ritual?) is hard to put into words, I think it’s almost my way of giving something back to the Gods. In my mind the solstices are the times that the world comes close to ending, the time when the Gods need our help, and by staying awake through them it’s almost like I’m carrying the flame of the Old Religion into the next part of the year.

It also gives me some time out, it’s special time just for me and my Gods and it lets me reflect on the last half of the year. I can remember the summer solstice of this year really clearly, it was the start of a hell of a lot of things- especially relationship-wise, and looking back it’s strange to think that I had no idea about the rollercoaster ride I was about to go on.

Sat at the end of those six months it’s a little scary to think about what could happen before the sun reaches its peak again, I don’t know what the next half of the year will bring, only that I hope I can claw through with my mind and self intact.

What does the Solstice mean to you?

Blessings,

Wren x

Leave a Reply

