Pagan Blog Project: Celtic

First of all, I have been in bed with the flu for the last two weeks 😦 hence my absence- thankfully I’ve managed to shake it off now and am powering through about two years worth of catch up work… *sigh*

Upon seeing the letter I don’t think I could really write about anything else- I would (and do) describe myself as a ‘Celtic Pagan’ or ‘Druid’ and my interest in the Celts goes far beyond their religion.

I first became interested in them way back before I even knew that religions other than Christianity existed. I would have been about six and learning basic British history in school. I always felt sorry for the Celts, I thought that it was unfair that they got wiped out and their culture destroyed when it seemed to be so much more interesting than the Roman’s boring square houses and regimented army.

As I got older I started to explore and learn more about the Celts, I’ve always devoured anything and everything about them that I could get my hands on- for me their culture and Gods have always felt like home, and finally realising that gave me an incredible sense of peace.

I wouldn’t call myself an expert by any means, but I am an enthusiastic student- I’ve tried to put together my rituals and habits from history and from contemporary Druidic teachings to create something that I’m happy with and feel comfortable practising, but my practises are always changing and growing and I’m comfortable with that.

At the end of the day I think that the Celts are a fascinating group of people who should not be consigned to the history books- they had some truly incredible customs and a fierce passion for their Gods that I see as nothing other than an inspiration.

Blessed be,

Wren x

 

Leave a Reply

