Pagan Blog Project: Virtue

Pagan Fridays here at the Druid Bird…

Virtue is defined as ‘having high moral standards’ and ‘a quality that it morally good and desirable’ in our society we tend to think of virtue as a synonym for ‘chastity’ which stems from the fact that we are a supposedly Christian country- but these definitions show that virtue is really a subjective thing.

According to this ‘virtue’ is based on morals and morality- and moral values change based on who is looking at them- I think that virtue is one of those things that feels a little too starched and Christian and therefore makes people feel uncomfortable talking about it.

Personally I would say that I am a virtuous person, I have high moral standards- but at the same time I one of the least judgemental people you will ever come across, I make it my mission to accept people as they come and try not to judge them. I’m not perfect- to be honest I’m pretty far from it, but I try my best to love everyone.

My morals are flexible- I’m big enough and ugly enough to know that the world can change, can be flipped upside down in seconds, so I’m not going to swear to a set of values that could change. The only thing I can and will swear to is my faith in my Gods.

Virtue is a word that tends to be associated with virginity… obviously that’s an old connotation, and one that can be washed away. Virtue shouldn’t be something that is difficult to achieve or binding, it should just be a given, a part of us.

So… long story short, I’m a proudly virtuous Pagan.

’til next time,

Blessed be,

Wren x

Leave a Reply

