The Tonsillitis Chronicles

So last Friday I came down with the most annoying disease known to man/woman/actress- by Monday I couldn’t eat solids (I know, it was grim) the last thing I had to eat was a banana on Monday lunchtime and from then on in it was milk, milk and more bloody milk.

I was getting about three hours sleep a night and (obviously) eating no food, this all added together to mean that I felt incredibly shit and emotional. I honestly don’t know how I got through rehearsals, only that everyone was lovely and looked after me (weirdly I had very few people questioning why I was drinking pints of milk straight from the carton… actors are a strange bunch.)

I finally broke my boycott on the doctors and marched myself down there on Tuesday. I had to wait 40 minutes and when I got in there got asked what was the matter, to which I replied ‘I can’t swallow!’ and burst into tears. I blame it on the fact I hadn’t slept for about four days.

The best part had to be when she asked me if I was okay as she ‘couldn’t help noticing’ that I had a lot of CAMHS stuff on my notes. Part of me was touched that she should care (most doctors breeze over it) but the other part of me was slightly annoyed that because I looked like a weak wibbling little mental. I calmly explained that the reason I was crying was that I was in extreme pain (for those of you who haven’t had it tonsillitis feels like you have a large piece of glass lodged in your throat and means even swallowing your own saliva becomes a minefield of pain.) I think I kind of threw her off when I laughed (genuinely, not bitterly) and said I was wondering how long it would take her to realise I was a nutter.

The whole thing was pretty hilarious, if you exclude the fact that I couldn’t swallow my own saliva for about three days without being in extreme pain, and trust me when I say I’m not a wimp when it comes to pain. Anyway, after 24 hours when the pills had started to kick in myself and some of the cast took a little evening excursion to see a production of ‘Bouncers’ which was completely awesome. Romeo stole some milk for me and I participated in a standing ovation with one other person which was quite terrifying, haha.

stolen milk…. mmm….

Thankfully now the pills have really started to take effect and I’m back on solids! Oh yeah, I ate my very first piece of solid food yesterday lunchtime, it was a tuna and cucumber sandwich and I’m not ashamed to say that I was eaten in silence with my eyes closed- and yes, it tasted amazing.

All I’ve got to do now is wait until I’m not infectious and then it’ll be time to rehearse THAT scene… oh yes, you know what I’m talking about.

’til next time,

Wren x

3 thoughts on “The Tonsillitis Chronicles

  1. XD I seriously underestimated tonsilitis until I caught it (right in the middle of the Download Music Festival) and it got me really bad really quick. I wasn’t ever sure when I was conscious and I had nightmares about being stabbed in the eyes by kittens (true story)… There might be something about tonsilitis that brings hilarity into your life. XD
    I know how you felt about the first solids… mine was a nectarine and damn it was good! XD
    Hope you’re all better soon.
    Rowan
    x~x

Leave a Reply

