Pagan Blog Project: Names

I’m being lazy cos I’m really pressed for time this week (friday nights consist of work and partying for me) and I’m still buzzing from seeing Bellowhead live last night. A seperate post will soon follow involving fangirl like hysteria. You have been warned.

So… names, names are cool and important, I can very easily tie in the infamous Shakespeare quote (hey, I’m playing Juliet this September/October, I’m allowed) of ‘a rose by any other name would smell as sweet’

Really Juliet? Would it actually? I don’t know where I stand on this, by saying that she’s (well, Shakespeare’s) essentially saying that names are meaningless, that they have no power.

I think that names have a huge amount of power- they can shape our views of a person or thing and can carry tremendous power, just take the name ‘Adolf’ for an example- I mean, no-one in the world can say that name comes free from stigma, meaning or association… I mean, how many of you would name your son Adolf?!

Names say something about us, whether they are names we have chosen for ourselves or not. They alll speak of qualities within us.

Told you this’d be short.

’til next time,

Wren x

 

Leave a Reply

