Shopping, Death Cab and Nocturnal Milkmen

I went shopping on Thursday- I’m getting really disorientated with dates and stuff; it was so hot last night I had to have all four of my windows wide open. It was a weird night because I was wandering around trying on all my new clothes and getting really paranoid that someone would climb in through my open windows- after the dream I had a few weeks ago it’s not surprising that I was worried- and then at about half past twelve I heard a car approaching the house. Feeling a bit freaked out I peered through the gap in my curtains and to my amazement was confronted by a milk float parked outside my neighbour’s house. The milk float then set off again down into my little cul de sac. Upon seeing this I was stunned for a few moments and then thought: I have to write about this on my blog… so here it is. I have to say it was one of the oddest moments of my life, and it has plenty of competition for that spot- I mean, we all think the postmen are bad, but milk at half past midnight? At least normal people are actually awake at teatime.

I also have to add a little bit on the new Death Cab for Cutie album, Codes and Keys. I’d feel robbed if I couldn’t say a few words on what I think of it- it’s pretty awesome. At first I thought it was good, but after two days of listening to it on repeat I have to say that I love it. That may seem like a weird reaction but it’s honestly quite a typical reaction to Death Cab, it takes a while to really understand the songs and get the message, but when you do it hits you like a sledgehammer and you have to listen to it over and over again. I’m slightly infamous for a small event that happened when I was listening to their song: Transatlanticism, I was listening to it for the sixth of seventh time and I suddenly burst into tears in the middle of the song. If you really listen to the song them you’ll get why but it was awkward and hilarious because I started laughing at myself whilst I was crying… anyway, back onto the topic. I love Codes and Keys. The songs have a stronger base to them than Death Cab songs have had in the past, and at first in unnerved me a little. I was worried that it was going to be more mainstream *sobs* but I am happy to report that this is not the case! It sounds really Death Cab-y but fresh enough that you’re not like: Oh God it all sounds the same… so all in all, I love it and highly recommend it. They may not have the most conventional name (I had to say it to my mother, she responded by staring blankly at me and walking away) but they are amazing.

In other news, my writing is coming along nicely. I’ve managed to find out who and why-dunnit in my little murder mystery and have planned my essay on the stigma of mental illness and written the introduction. I just have four big paragraphs and a conclusion and it will be up, maybe within a couple of weeks max- I have GCSE’s to do, cut me some slack!

Listening to: Portable Television by Death Cab for Cutie. I love this song. At first the name and the lyrics make you dubious about the brilliance of it but you have to listen to the lyrics and you realise why it’s brilliant.

 

Leave a Reply

